Our Take on DIY Shiplap

Good morning Loves!

This past weekend I gave DIY Shiplap a shot after scrolling through several tutorials on Pinterest and finally having a full free weekend to myself – score! SO to start, I made a Home Depot run with my nieces [I needed some company while I figuratively hammered away] to choose plywood and ventured through the aisles for a nail gun.

img_7701
Materials:

  • 8″-1′ Strips of Plywood
  • Nail Gun
  • Jigsaw
  • Pencil
  • Level
  • Hammer
  • Ladder
  • Stud finder

 

My dad’s house was in desperate need of an update to its original beach house vibes, so of course shiplap immediately came to mind while reviving the main wall. To start, get your sheets of plywood stripped while you’re out and about to save yourself the hassle and save yourself the purchase of a rotary cutter. I had my sheets cut into 1′ strips since we had such a large space to cover (12’x15′).

You’ll want to mark your studs so that you can nail your strips directly into those in order to prevent them from falling off the wall. The jigsaw comes in handy when you cut out the areas for outlets and cutting the strips shorter when necessary (I definitely suggest having a large stable table for cutting instead of the kitchen table – trust me). Start from the top of the wall in order to achieve a larger and cleaner look, we started from the bottom because I’ll be adding new trim and was too short [even on the ladder] but for the sleek look, start from the top.

We left the original strips to get a taste of how the wood felt with the other nautical decor – it will be painted off white as soon as I have another free weekend :p

I hope you enjoyed! This main room doesn’t get a lot of light (hence yellow hues) but hoping as the remodeling continues that will change. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday everyone, and cheers to a new week!

 

-XOXOname-plate


Leave a Reply

